Michelle Obama Is 1st First Lady To Release Hip Hop Album

Michelle Obama Is 1st First Lady To Release Hip Hop Album

(AllHipHop News) The Obamas are officially the most authentically Hip Hop couple to ever lead America. On September 30th, Michelle Obama’s Partnership for a Healthier America and Hip Hop Public Health will release the Hip Hop-inspired album Songs for a Healthier America.

The First Lady will not be spitting any rhymes or hitting any high notes but she has assembled a bevvy of Hip Hop and R&B artists for the album. A few of the artists include New York Knick/rapper Iman Shumpert, Doug E. Fresh, DMC and others.

The album is apart of Michelle Obama’s Let’s Move campaign which aims to fight obesity and promote fitness among kids. Let’s Move’s executive director and White House assistant chef Sam Kass explained why the album would have a Hip Hop feel:

So many kids listen to Hip Hop so why not give these messages to kids in a way that’s not preachy. I think hip hop in particular – so many kids love hip hop. It’s such a core part of our culture,” he said. “…Particularly in the African- American community and the Latino community which is being disproportionately affected by those health issues.”

Here is the tracklist for the album:

1. ‘U R What You Eat’ (Salad Bar: Matisyahu, Ariana Grande, Travis Barker)
2. ‘Everybody’ (Jordin Sparks, Doug E. Fresh, Dr Oz, Ryan Beatty, Hip Hop MD)
3. ‘Let’s Move’ (Doug E. Fresh, Artie Green, Chauncey Hawkins)
4. ‘Just Believe’ (Ashanti, Gerry Gunn, Artie Green, Robbie Nova)
5. ‘Veggie Luv’ (Monifah and J Rome)
6. ‘Hip Hop FEET’ (DMC and Artie Green)
7. ‘Stronger’ (Shayna Steele, Jeremy Jordan, Our Time Theater kids, and E-Street Band guitarist Nils Lofgren)
8. ‘Give Myself a Try’ (Ryan Beatty)
9. ‘Jump Up’ (Brady Rymer and the Little band that Could)
10. ‘Hip Hop LEAN’ (Artie Green)
11. ‘Pass the Rock’ (Iman Schumpert and Artie Green)
12. ‘Good Living’ (Ashton Jones)
13. ‘Beautiful’ (Daisy Grant and Artie Green)
14. ‘Change the Game’ (The Happiness Club, featuring Naledge)
15. ‘Wanna Jump (Let’s Move)’ (Paul Burch)
16. ‘Mother May I’ (Amelia Robinson)
17. ‘We Like Vegetables’ (Los Barkers!)
18. ‘Get Up Sit Up’ (Babi Floyd)
19. ‘One Step Forward’ (Samite)

Check out the video for the albums first single, “Everybody” featuring Jordin Sparks, Doug E Fresh and Doctor Oz: