Cypress Hill To Drop Album In 2014; Says It's "Anti-Everything That's Popular"


(AllHipHop News) It has been almost ten years since California Hip Hop group Cypress Hill released a studio album with all three original members contributing to the entire project. The trio of B-Real, Sen Dog, and DJ Muggs are back together again and plan to drop a new LP in spring 2014.

[ALSO READ: Ice-T & Body Count To Release New Album]

“It’s great to have DJ Muggs back at the helm of the production,” says B-Real. “When Muggs, Sen, and I work together there’s a chemistry between us that brings forth powerful music. It’s going to be ill, man.”

According to the man handling the production, listeners can expect the project not to follow the trends in music at the moment. Muggs reveals Cypress Hill is returning with  a soundscape that has not been heard before.

“The sound is anti-everything that’s popular and is in a world of its own. The lyrics delivered with the vocal tenacity of a stoned gypsy roaming across the country through the mist,” says Muggs.

Cypress Hill released their LP Rise Up in 2010, but Muggs only produced one track for that album. The group’s 2004 project Till Death Do Us Part was the last one heavily featuring all three members. The 5-track EP Cypress x Rusko, with production by Rusko was released in 2012.

[ALSO READ: B Real Gives AllHipHop The Goods On Cypress Hill Reunion Album]

Watch the video for Cypress Hill’s classic 1993 single “Insane In The Brain” below.