Obama Snubs Hip-Hop; Rap Left Off President’s Official Playlist


Win A $75 Giftcard To Footlocker

(AllHipHop News) Although President Barack Obama is a self proclaimed Hip-Hop fan, this year’s presidential playlist does not contain a single rap song.

The White House released Obama’s 2012 playlist last night (February 9) and while there are a number of R&B, Rock and Jazz acts, not a single Hip-Hop artist made Obama’s list.

Artists like Aretha Franklin, Earth Wind and Fire, Raphael Saadiq, Ricky Martin, Jennifer Hudson and Darius Rucker made the 29-song list, which was created using music discovery service Spotify.

It is a surprise that not a single rap song made President Barack Obama’s playlist, since he has had a unique relationship with the genre of music over the past four years.

The President has personally invited artists like Jay-Z, Common and DMC of Run-DMC fame, while he is admitted to listening to artists like Lil Wayne, Nas, The Fugees and others.

The President had harsh words for Kanye West after his MTV moment involving country singer Taylor Swift in 2009 and he was once forced to defend himself from ludicrous accusations that he was featured in Tag Team’s 1993 video “Whoomp There It Is!”

President Barack Obama even name checked Tupac and Notorious B.I.G. during his presidential dinner in which he joked on rival Donald Trump, who was in attendance.

Checkout President Barack Obama’s Hip-Hop free playlist below:

Raphael Saadiq: “Keep Marchin'”

Noah And The Whale: “Tonight’s The
Kind Of Night”

Bruce Springsteen: “We Take Care Of Our Own”

Zac Brown Band: “Keep Me In Mind”

Aretha Franklin: “The Weight”

U2: “Even Better Than The Real Thing”

Ricky Martin featuring Joss Stone: “The

Best Thing About Me Is You”

Dierks Bentley: “Home”

Ray LaMontagne: “You Are The Best Thing”

Earth Wind & Fire Experience featuring Al McKay Allstars: “Got To Get You Into My Life” (Live)

Booker T. & The MG’s: “Green Onions” (Single/LP Version)

Wilco: “I Got You”

The Impressions: “Keep On Pushing” (Single Version)

Jennifer Hudson: “Love You I Do” (from Dreamgirls

AgesandAges: “No Nostalgia”

Sugarland: “Stand Up”

Al Green: “Let’s Stay Together”

Darius Rucker: “This”

Arcade Fire: “We Used To Wait”

Florence + The Machine: “You’ve Got The Love”

James Taylor: “Your Smiling Face”

REO Speedwagon: “Roll With The Changes”

Sugarland: “Everyday America”

Darius Rucker: “Learn To Love”

Electric Light Orchestra: “Mr. Blue Sky”

Montgomery Gentry: “My Town”

No Doubt: “Different People”

Ledisi: “Raise Up”