Talib Kweli Joins Forces With Morgan State University Professor MK Asante

MK Asante x Talib Kweli = New Music

Talib Kweli’s Javotti Media has created a new partnership with Morgan State University Professor MK Asante for Buck, the soundtrack to the best-selling book of the same name.

Based on his memoir, Buck features Talib Kweli, Ras Kass, King Mez, and even the late Dr. Maya Angelou, who offers an exclusive speech.

“Buck, the memoir is important not just for it’s scope and passion, but for the author’s refusal to apologize for existing,” says Javotti Media CEO, Talib Kweli. “The accompanying soundtrack allows you to engulf yourself in this world. When you do, you realize that this work of art is not just important, but necessary.”
Buck, the book, was a Washington Post Best Seller and also was a finalist for the NAACP Image Awards Outstanding Literary Work.’

Born in Zimbabwe, raised in urban Philadelphia in the 90’s, MK Asante said dealt with the “same issues plaguing today’s hip-hop generation.” Despite these odds, he got his MFA from UCLA and became the youngest tenured professor at Morgan State University at age 26.

This soundtrack is a way for him to reach the Hip-Hop diaspora. “I wanted to do something new to push the boundaries of literature and the soundtrack does this.

It translates the book into the universal language of music.”

The Buck soundtrack will be released on Wednesday, May 13th, the one year anniversary of the paper back release of Buck. It will be available as a free digital download on MKAsante.com and KweliClub.com.


Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Young Bucks (Feat. King Mez)
3. The Bulletin (Feat. Uzi)
4. Hungry & Foolish
5. Blank Page
6. Buck Shots (Feat. Uzi)
7. Godz N The Hood (Feat. Bishop Lamont, Rass Kass & Talib Kweli)
8. Oh B#### You Weary (Feat. Amiri Baraka)
9. Blood in My Eye
10. My Victory (Feat. Maya Angelou)
11. Wanderlust
12. Outro [Wonderful]